Location vs. Studio Projects…

***Please note that my web site has moved to the following link: www.ajkahn.com

When it comes to art nude photography, I have traditionally been a studio shooter.

There’s something to be said for the comfort of the studio environment.  I have control over my lighting and there are no surprise weather changes.

My equipment, props and other niceties are right at my fingertips.  I can plan for the shoot in advance, testing for the best lighting, exposure and perspective.

Perhaps the most important comfort is that the model enjoys plenty of privacy, with no risk of an unwanted audience.

Everything sounds perfect, right?  Well, not exactly.  Often times there’s something missing.

That’s where location work comes in.

It’s an entirely different process for me that I really enjoy.

There’s a certain thrill to shooting on the fly, with little expectations of outcomes or preplanned visions to get in the way.

You have to be flexible with the changing lighting conditions, weather patterns and even what props or backgrounds are used.

I have found that the results are often just as successful than a carefully orchestrated studio shoot.  So I ask myself, which approach is best?

I guess it’s a matter of style and preference for each photographer to decide.

I have come to realize that I really need both approaches to keep my mind fresh and creativity flowing.   To find a balance between the two will be my goal for the foreseeable future.

Hopefully, both approaches will be rewarded with renewed perspective.

This entry was posted in AJ Kahn, Dance Photography, Female Nude, Fine Art Photography, Human Form, Landscape Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Location vs. Studio Projects…

  1. artsilvaphoto says:

    Excellent observations… And work. I agree with this post, a little variety and flexibility is good for both the nude photographer and model.

    • A. J. Kahn says:

      Thank you for the kind words, Mr. Silva. It’s nice to see that we consider similar challenges when approaching this subject. I have followed your work from MM and Artnudes network, and really enjoy what you’re doing!

  2. artsilvaphoto says:

    Reblogged this on Art Silva Photography blog and commented:
    I would usually only post original items on my blog but this one caught my eye and reflected everything I think about the challenges of art nude photography shoots.

  3. I also started with studio fine art nudes…and realized that i felt I needed to go beyond just bodyscapes. I wanted emotions…both kinds of photography were considered good by others but to me, my love of landscape and nature, and introducing a female figure interacting with it got me many persomally more *real* photos.

Leave a Reply

